2017 Program Keynote Lectures

Saturday, June 10

CYTO Innovation Keynote
Diagnostic Innovation to Improved Patient Care: Can We Overcome the Hurdles?
Michael Pellini, Foundation Medicine, Inc., USA


Sunday, June 11

1700 – 1800
Robert Hooke Lecture
Illuminating Biology at the Nanoscale with Single-Molecule and Super-Resolution Imaging
Xiaowei Zhuang, Harvard University

Xiaowei Zhuang is the David B. Arnold Professor of Science at Harvard University and an investigator of Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Her lab develops advanced optical imaging techniques, in particular single-molecule and super-resolution imaging methods, and applies these methods for biological studies. Zhuang received her B.S. degree from the University of Science and Technology of China, her Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley, and her postdoctoral training at Stanford University. She joined the faculty of Harvard University in 2001 and the Howard Hughes Medical Institute as an investigator in 2005. She is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the EMBO, a fellow of the American Association of the Advancement of Science and the American Physical Society, and an honorary fellow of the Royal Microscopical Society. 


Tuesday, June 13

1345 – 1445
Roger Tsien Keynote Lecture
Optical Tools for Understanding Biological Systems
Ed Boyden, Massachusetts Institute of Technology 

Ed Boyden is a professor of Biological Engineering and Brain and Cognitive Sciences at the MIT Media Lab and the MIT McGovern Institute. He leads the Synthetic Neurobiology Group, which develops tools for analyzing and repairing complex biological systems such as the brain, and applies them systematically to reveal ground truth principles of biological function as well as to repair these systems. These technologies include expansion microscopy, which enables complex biological systems to be imaged with nanoscale precision, and optogenetic tools, which enable the activation and silencing of neural activity with light. He also co-directs the MIT Center for Neurobiological Engineering, which aims to develop new tools to accelerate neuroscience progress.  Amongst other recognitions, he has received the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences (2016), the Jacob Heskel Gabbay Award (2013), the Grete Lundbeck Brain Prize (2013), and the NIH Director's Pioneer Award (2013).